top of page

Its not the slick that made Nick Sick!

Epic fail this weekend on the species front but I did try hard, and with my daughters 21st birthday party taking centre stage I couldn't expect to much. The only trip I had any chance of a new species was aboard Sundays shark trip aboard Bite Adventures, alongside the Happy Danglers. With sharks being the target I maintained my diminishing hope for the Porbeagle shark but with only a couple of trips left this year I think that's clutching at straws now. The weather had been forecast to give messy conditions but the sun was breaking through and the winds diminishing so everything looked good. Craig and Nick had kindly agreed to pick me up on route and with a departure time from the harbour of 8.00am it meant a lay in until 05.15, lovely jubbly. The guys were already at the meeting point when I arrived and a perfect run down the A30 got us to Penzance harbour by 07.15, plenty of time to get sorted and to the boat. Skipper Chippy had told us the Mackerel were in good size shoals not far from the harbour entrance so get the feathers on asap. The 6 anglers Dave, Aaron, Pete, Craig, Nick and I were soon loaded aboard and eagerly attaching various sparkling bait catching strings of tinsel.

The sea was flat and the rising sun created a golden glow to herald the start of another adventure, fingers crossed none of us blanked everything else is a bonus. We soon stopped as the fish finder showed a dense shoal of bait below the keel, sure enough the brightly coloured attractors, journey to the sea floor was abruptly stopped midwater as the massing mackerel grabbed them instantly. The deck was soon shimmering with a multitude of the beating fish as everyone swung in string after string, 10 minutes and our shark bait was collected, onwards into the fray. It was about this time that Chippy's young prodigy Kieren done a drive by in his boat Lokie, great to see the young skipper back on his feet after his second sepsis episode.

It was over an hour in a swollen sea before Bite Adventures engines fell silent, Nick for the second trip in a row turned into the incredible Hulk with his colour turning green. The chum bags were readied and thrown over the side to commence the slick but it was by now to late for poor old Nick as the curse of the sea had a good grip on him.

Touch wood I have never suffered from the cursed seasickness but I really feel for anyone who gets struck down by the affliction as it really ruins your day. The other issue is it makes you a target for everyone not affected to show just how supportive the cant be! The first rod was put out and while it was running back in the tide it was taken by a shark, Aaron was on the rod and playing the first shark which was also his first shark. Nice to see someone get their first fish and also to find out that Blue Sharks do pull a bit, the fish gave him a good little work out and once to the side of the boat was quickly t-barred off.

It was a little wait for the next sharks to appear but soon a couple arrived in short succession giving big Dave and Grandpa Pete a bit of fun as these 60lb class fish fought well on the 12lb to 20lb class tackle. These fish like all of the fish through the day were released at the side of the boat, but if we had managed a monster then a quick pic would have been taken.

I was position 5 and therefore set up my own rod to try and get another species for my challenge, we were in really deep water but its amazing at the variety of species that reside in the desert like area of the big blue. My rod soon bounced frantically as a whiting grabbed the bait, this was followed by several more whiting before a small gurnard created a change. We were then witness to a depth charge explosion of water, only 20 yards from the stern of the boat as a passing Tuna decided to breach out of the water. It is mind boggling how such a fish, clearly heading towards a thousand pounds in weight can be so agile, we were left temporarily stunned and in awe of these creatures. With the excitement over Craig was now connected to a powerful Blue shark his first for 20 years and at around 80lbs a new personal best by some distance. The shark really showed him the ropes and I think Craig will admit they warrant a bit of respect when they approach the ton mark.

It was now my time on the rods and soon I managed my first fish, unfortunately with out commercial Chris on hand to take any shots I have nothing to post of me, so I will post a picture of Nauseas Nick preparing for his turn on the rods!

With my go out of the way I returned to the bottom bouncing having noticed Pete and Dave getting a few Haddock, sure enough the whiting had been replaced with some lovely little Haddock. I soon had a few under my belt and as this is the first year I have ever caught Haddock they are still a novelty, plus they are a cracking looking fish.

Nick was forced to fish as a shark continued the no sympathy theme and made off with the bait, he was soon back in the groove and playing it like a chundering champ. He did manage to get the fish to the side without any additional chum contributions and I think this bit of fishing perked him up.

We all caught another round of sharks with Pete setting the boat record for the smallest blue shark of the year, and strangely Aaron landed a lesser spotted dogfish at the same time that was bigger! I managed a shark of around 50lb and Craig had managed to send me a shot of me playing this one.

Below yet another picture of a seasick Nick getting ready for his next go on the rods.

Unfortunately for Nauseas Nick no shark arrived, and we headed inshore for an attempt at a Red Bream, skipper Chippy suggested there may be a chance of one and as I needed one of these I was keen to try. We dropped down over a wreck with our small feathers baited with ragworm, I soon connected with a rattling bite but knew the lack of fight equalled a pouting. We didn't connect with any Bream and the skipper felt that the lumpy sea may have moved them off the wreck, this was backed up by the sounder with very few marks showing. We decided to catch some bait for our various autumn fishing excursions, I like to have some for the Pike to eat at the lakes also. Within 30 minutes of fishing we had enough for what we needed and the skipper had his baits for the next day. Despite not picking up a new species it was as usual with this bunch a thoroughly enjoyable day and despite Nicks illness he is still a legend for all that he does. Thanks Craig for the lift and the information on a species I will be targeting in the next couple of weeks, and to skipper Chippy Chapman for giving us a great day out. This coming weekend I am sharking from Looe, if Neptune really wants to make an old man happy send a little Porbeagle my way and I will send a shiny 5 pence yours!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page