top of page

Watch out Beagles about!

Having just returned a day early from the Mounts Bay annual sports charity comp I can understand why day two was cancelled, what a difference a day makes. Yesterday the day was hot with light north westerly winds and today driving rain and strong south westerly gusts, but at least day 1 went ahead. The competition is spearheaded by Robin Chapman and raises money for the excellent Children's Hospice South West a great cause for all in the south west.

The competition is entered on an individual basis and has some incredible prizes from many great sponsors, so its not surprising that around 60 anglers signed up to fish. I had booked up with a group from the Happy Danglers, Nick, Pete, Paul, Simon, Dave and Jordan as per usual it would be a banter filled trip. The boat we were booked up on was none other than my shiny headed Falmouth favourite Andy Howell and his charter boat Anglo Dawn, I knew we were in fairly safe hands! The other guys had travelled down from Falmouth on the Friday with Andy undertaking a shark trip on route, this had been quite a challenge in itself. The weather on the Friday was pretty extreme and the rounding of the Lizard peninsula was described by all as a squeaky bottom experience. Despite this whitewater journey to the shark ground, fresh winds and large swell the guys managed 7 Sharks with a couple of bonus Megrim Sole thrown in for good measure. When I arrived at the harbour in Penzance first thing Saturday morning Pete was sat in his van wearing his storm suit with the engine running no doubt still trying to dry out. The sunrise on this particular morning was stunning and the sea had become as still as a lake, no signs of the previous days storm or the one set to arrive.

Pete filled me in on the perfect storm they had survived and how Nick had spent the whole day somewhat green and huddled in the corner. The competitor's were soon arriving and Chippy fired up the barbecue for the breakfast rolls that we were being treated to, just a donation to the charity pot and a hot coffee and bacon roll was yours. We all signed on and paid up the fees giving us our entry form and lucky number, this number could win you a great prize if you attended the Sunday presentation.

Unfortunately when we signed up for the Al a Carte baps we were unaware of the dodgy chef, this turned out to be none other than our own Nick Smith who actually done a pukka job, good on you mate!

With the food, signing on and social mingling underway the boats started appearing against the harbour wall, our boat Anglo Dawn still looked like a new pin, not really surprising following the previous days natural powerwash. Skipper Andy arrived and started sorting out some of the carnage left over from the shark trip, he also signed up for the competition seeing as it was for charity.

The eager competitors' started loading their boats and before long we were all bobbing around in the harbour waiting for the signal to start. With the 9am start time reached Bite Adventures made her way through the flotilla of boats to signify the start, as the harbour entrance was passed all the engines roared into life and the myriad of boats erupted into the open sea.

Andy powered the boat towards the area we hoped to gather bait from and we all readied our feathers to get some fresh baits to accompany the ragworm and squid we had brought. Within 20 minutes we were at the bait area and all busy jigging the small lures, this led to several Mackerel, Poor Cod and Scad being landed giving us plenty of baits for the day. Little did we know the Mackerel would follow us all day and become somewhat of a pest. It seemed that everyone knew where to gather the bait as the mark was soon full of boats of every size and colour all seeing who was on the money. With enough bait we headed off to the first mark and a go at the John Dory's, Dave had set his stall out for a Dory and would be targeting them all day. I had decided to go small and go for some of the mini species over the course of the day, starting out with tiny hooks and small bits of ragworm. We struggled to get baits down through the Mackerel and Scad, a quick look at the sounder showed shoals from top to bottom, it really was frustrating although Nick did pick up a possible Scad to weigh in. Eventually once we got baits down a few Cuckoo Wrasse started being caught and I managed a nice little female plus more Poor Cod. There were several Gurnards landed and I managed a nice little Red Gurnard before Dave pulled in a nice Tub Gurnard on a livebait. Andy decided to move to an area of sand where we would drift for some Plaice, Dabs and possibly a Weever, this was the fish I was after so I set up a flattie boom rig with one long trace baited with a strip of mackerel belly and a shorter trace baited with worm. A few fish started appearing with Plaice, Dabs and Grey Gurnard making up the numbers, I finally had my own enquiry as the rod tip rattled violently. I wound down slowly to find a little more weight and the odd kick of a hooked fish of unknown origin, the bright blinged up rig was visible first, then the mottled sand of a Turbot. That was a fish I never expected and a tough one on my list making species 62, not a huge one but another in the bag, quick picture and I dropped the fish back to grow into a specimen.

With a couple of drifts undertaken Andy decided to put the hook down to see if any Dragonets , Rays or Weevers could be landed, I scaled my hooks down to size 12s with tiny bits of worm to try for that Dragonet. Then jammy Jordan who was having a day like young Elliot did a few weeks ago reeled in a lovely female Dragonet. We all had a good look at this stunning looking little fish but it is the male of the species that sports the most amazing colours and I am yet to see one in the flesh.

The bites were really lacking on this particular mark and I think when it came time to move we were all ready for a change, this time we were going over a section of rough ground before hitting the Wrasse mark I call the Mumblestone. The section of rough ground produced a Pollack, Wrasse and Pouting before Dave hooked something on his live poor cod that could well be his target. Sure enough I got to see yet another John Dory as a lovely fish popped up onto the surface and was quickly netted.

Really pleased for Dave that the plan worked he had fished a live bait since we started and was finally rewarded for his efforts with this iconic fish. With a few drifts completed we headed to the Mumblestone to battle the mighty Ballan Wrasse the action can be frantic and unforgiving on tackle. Within minutes of arriving Pete was into the first nice Wrasse, bright red and angry looking, was how I would describe the skipper at this point! Wrasse were being landed all around the boat and despite a few nice fish we couldn't get through to anything over 4lb.

The fishing is consistent at this location and we spent a while enjoying these powerhouses before departing for another area of less snaggy ground. The area though did have a few pinnacles that have produced some nice Ling in the past, I made a trace of 80lb mono, 7/0 hook baited with a whole joey mackerel. This produced a fast rattling bite that turned out to be the only Dogfish of the trip, I guess that gives me the wooden spoon. I re-baited with another whole mackerel and lowered it to the seabed, once again I was soon receiving a bite, I wound the bait in and felt there was something on the end like a dead weight. I carried on slowly winding joined by Andy who enquired what I had on, then about halfway up the rod was yanked down hard and line poured from the reel. I think it has woken up I stated, but it would appear that a Porbeagle was now attached and after a minute or so the fish was up and visible in the gloom, a fish in the 60lb+ class. This would be perfect for my challenge and just the right size for a photo, the skipper was ready with the net but as the fish dived again it bit through the mono trace. The fish then came and took Dave's livebait so Andy quickly got me a wire trace which I hooked up with bait and dropped down unfortunately this was one beagle that wasn't going to make the same mistake a third time. I must admit to feeling absolutely gutted, I really want a Porbeagle to be included in this challenge and I seem to keep missing my opportunities', time is running out on that one now ,but you never know. We moved on to a wreck for a proper go at some ling and I kept the wire trace and mackerel fishing just above the wreck in the hope another Porbeagle was lurking. Jordan continued his lucky streak landing the best Ling of the day at 15lbs, Pete and I however got into a mass tangle leading to me needing to cut the skippers new shark trace, he's head was already too red to see if he was even angrier but I know I wont hear the last of it so I will need to get him some sort of treat. That was the last of the fishing and at the weigh in we had Paul and Nick both putting in weighable fish but the real disappointment was Dave's John Dory was 1gram under the qualifier weight and couldn't be entered. Despite day two being cancelled it was a wonderful day 1 and I am sure a lot of money has been raised for this great cause, a really well run, well supported event, I look forward to supporting this again. Thanks to Chippy and the organisers for running this event, the danglers for their superb company as per usual, and of course skipper Andy for doing what he does well putting us on the fish. I really look forward to Tuesday week when we are out on his home turf chasing something I haven't had yet and many other things for everyone else. Just need to wish skipper Kieren Faisey a speedy recovery after contracting sepsis from one of the sharks he has handled. I hope I am fishing with you Tuesday mate, this means you would have recovered and I have another chance at a Porgy.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page