top of page

Thunder, Rain and Lightening but its the Ants that are frightening!


Seems an age since I have done a blog and the fish in this one don't even count towards my fifty two species as they are caught from outside the UK. Why bother with a blog that doesn't reduce the list of species? well quite simply spreading the word and promoting the Stroke Association has always been as important as catching fish and raising money. The 4 yearly trip across the pond with a group of mates has been a tradition that is timed to coincide with the World Cup, although this year we were slightly premature. We have certain criteria when deciding on venues these include, exclusive use of the lake, a cottage close or adjacent to the lake and of course some nice fish. This year we had booked a 4 acre lake with a large cottage near the town of Vitre ,named Etang Bertie, there was also a smaller lake attached to the property that we could use. We booked the ferry from Poole but didn't really take into account travel time and the fact it was my birthday, the result was a 3.00am departure from home after a night celebrating. The amount of gear for these trips seems to grow every time and this is despite the fact we have a house to use and shops to purchase supplies. Below my kit ready to go, everything but the kitchen sink was included to cover all eventualities.

Due to the early start we had opted to load Trevor's van the night before and as we were travelling with 1 van and 1 car, space could be a premium. We needn't have worried as some quality vehicle loading by Jamie and Kevin had all the gear neatly stacked with space to spare. Before we knew it we were on route towards Poole and the Brittany Ferry to Cherbourg, the journey was uneventful and filled with the anticipation of the following weeks fishing. Mike was joining us on this trip and although not an angler he was an avid camper and lover of France, we had persuaded him to join us having all grown up with him. He had kindly volunteered to drive his car, taking Kevin, Jamie and I with him, Trevor and his 12 year old son Tommy followed behind in the van with the kit. The ferry port as usual is a breeze and the staff at Brittany Ferry's are well versed in the loading process, we were joined in the queue by a convoy of world war two American jeeps. Its a stark reminder that 74 years previously young men had made the ultimate sacrifice landing on the Normandy beaches to face a well armed ruthless German force. Once aboard ship it was time for breakfast and we headed for the café hoping for a traditional English breakfast, unfortunately the café served continental so it was orange juice and croissants. As we finished the rather unsatisfactory breakfast we had a message from Trevor who had been loaded separately and was now in the café having a full English! Darn it, we didn't think that there could be two restaurants onboard. That didn't phase Kev and Jamie who were up for breakfast number two and we all headed off to track it down, while in the café we think we may have spotted our first Frenchman.

The 4 hour crossing was pleasant and with the sun beaming down we found a sun trap up on deck and lounged around taking in the ambience of the morning.

Soon the huge ferry arrived at the commercial hub of Cherbourg and whatever way you look at it, the port just isn't picturesque but it does provide the service it was designed for. We soon disembarked and cleared security before heading south to the town of Vitre around 3 hours drive. Before arriving at the lake we stocked up at the local Lidl's which was handy as the store was the same as back home, although much of the food was very different. Finally 14 hours after leaving home we arrived at the lake and its lovely typical French cottage, first order of service was the walk around. The lake was gorgeous with a large central island and around 5 purpose made swims, although these were somewhat overgrown and the water level was 2 foot higher than it should have been. Eventually we all selected swims and I chose an area known as deep bay that also included an overgrown arm off to the left, that surely would be an ambush point for Catfish, the species I was after. We set up the camps and were keen to get the rods out and get some sleep, to start properly in the morning, young Tommy was quickly into a fish, a small catfish that made his day.

With the darkness wrapping its inky arms around the lake it was time to hit the sack and get some well earned sleep, I know I hadn't thought too much about tactics, just pellet out on the far margin. The night was far from peaceful as the deafening screeches of a million frogs did there best to prevent us sleeping, the humid night meant a night on top of the bag. I soon found myself subjected to a multitude of little critters crawling all over me, I flicked on the head torch to reveal a trail of Ants along my arm, across the bed and down the side of my rucksack to the floor. My only option was to climb into the bag and zip up leaving just my face exposed, no doubt to be ravaged by the tiny beasts. The consequence of covering up was to cook inside a material sauna, the lesser of the two evils, despite the tiredness I slept very little as the constant stomping of tiny feet across my face was somewhat of a distraction. The next morning could not come quick enough and as soon as the light was up I emptied my bivvy to reveal a black mass of ants under every item. I had setup camp on an ants nest and the residents were none to pleased, I had found some ant powder at the house and created a barrier around the inside perimeter of the tent. This should keep the army of ants at bay for the next evening and maybe I would get some sleep. Jamie and Kevin over the far side of the lake had opened their accounts with a couple of nice fish in the early hours of the morning.

Mike who hadn't fished during the night had enjoyed a nice nights sleep and I felt somewhat jealous that I had lent him my dome tent with a sewn in ground sheet making it Ant proof. My rods with the Catfish baits had remained silent and I felt that a change of tactics would be in order for the upcoming evening. Trevor had managed a nice 27lber and while he popped back to the house his son Tom hooked into a real beast of a fish, I assisted him as much as possible but the fish crossed the whole lake to the sanctuary of the marginal weed beds and the hook came out. The little lad followed this up with another monster that took the bait to the edge of the island, this time fearing the fish was snagged I had a go with the rod and after walking slowly backwards the fish was once again on the move and swimming. Tom took back over but the fish found another snag, this was obviously a catfish and after witnessing the fish roll and slapping its tail it was clearly a 40lb+ fish. Trevor turned up and took over from his frustrated son, he soon had the fish in the open water and passed the rod back to his son. Unfortunately as can be the case with big fish they will exploit any weakness and in this case, Trevor tried to move his left hand rod from the path of the approaching cat only to find his line snagged, the two taught lines crossed and the inevitable happened the one with the fish on parted. Poor Tom was gutted but not despondent and quickly got his baits back out in the water with my bait boat. I spent the afternoon stalking in the back of the arm with float fished worm in the hope of picking up a catfish.

My persistence paid off as a raft of bubbles exploded around the float signifying the arrival of a fish and shortly after the float slid slowly away and a small Catfish was hooked and landed, much to my relief.

The evening plan was to use a large bunch of worms fished on a Dyson rig in the middle of the deep channel entering the arm. As the evening approached so did the grumbling beast of a thunder storm and with the rods out, ants contained and tea eaten it was time to take cover in the Bivvy and wait out the storm. The rumbles grew deafening, even drowning out the howler monkey like frog chorus, splats of rain impacted on the outer skin of my shelter and lightening lit up the mozzy proof bivvy front, like an x-ray machine firing repeatedly. The worm rig was off and running as a catfish chomped on the worms, I couldn't believe how I went from dry to drenched in mere seconds. I landed the catfish and sacked it up as the owner wanted small cats removed and put in the small lake below the main one. I re-cast the worm rod and climbed soaked back into my cosy little camp, removing the wet clothes and firing up the kettle for a warming brew. Just as I was dried out the worm rod was off again and in my haste I failed to put on my coat and once again found myself instantly soaked in the driving rain. This was another small catfish but bigger than the first and as before was sacked for transfer to the other lake. I returned again to my material house and like the last little pig felt secure once inside, as I know from previous excursions it just doesn't leak. I sat on the bed, now down to just my underpants the only dry item I had on. My thoughts once again drifted to my neighbour Mike, who chooses not to fish during the night and was tucked up snug and warm in the adjacent tent. The storm was reaching dangerous levels and I was contemplating calling it a night when the worm rod was wailing for attention again, I ran out bare foot and in only my pants which soon met the same fate of all my previous layers. As soon as I struck the fish I knew it was a much better fish and the rod steadily bent over as the fish swam away up the arm on the left. I now realised this was a daft place to catfish as the fish disappeared out of view, my line now heading towards the reeds, 10 minutes of a fairly even tug of war and I had the Catfish in the margin at my feet but stuck solid. Boom a huge clap of thunder bellowed above my head and the lightening lit the whole lake, I must be stark raving mad I thought as I lay down the rod and waded out up to my waste in the warm lake. I followed the line down to the top of the rig knowing full well my hand will meet the catfish at some point, as I followed the trace to the hook I felt the base of the reed where the hook was now imbedded. The fish was gone, I was soaked literally to the skin and with so much static in the air I knew even my remaining hair was probably stood on its end. I didn't feel like recasting the bait and when Jamie called on the walkie talkie to say he was also down to his pants and felt it to dangerous to continue we all reeled in and called it a night. The storm raged all night and so it was another night of little to no sleep, although I soon warmed up inside the sleeping bag I was relieved to know I wouldn't have to get out again.

The next morning our camps looked battered and bruised and its amazing how good a shower and clean clothes can make you feel. Kevin and Jamie had managed a few more fish during the night leading to them getting a soaking like me, they continued their carp catching in the morning both taking good twenty's.

Trevor and Tom had wisely not fished during the night and were now up and determined to get a fish or two with the sun out there was no excuse. I had, had enough of the back bay it wasn't a sensible place to target Catfish as if they went left like last night it was nearly impossible to get them back to my swim, so it was time to move. With the sun now beating down and my kit nicely dry I walked all the way around to a swim in front of the island where I hoped a hooked catfish could be landed easier. The move took me a couple of hours and I made sure that the area was ant free and not to close to trees as more thunder storms were forecast that evening. I got the rods out fairly quickly with one on the Dyson worms and another using a fresh dead bait, the third was on large pellet. The dead bait was taken fairly quickly and I was surprised to see a Pike on the end of the line.

The worms continued to get interest from small catfish and I soon landed a few more of these voracious little predators, they really loved the huge bunch of worms.

The bigger cats were remaining elusive although Jamie was getting a few by accidents on his little wafter baits the best going 20lb, typical!

Kevin had managed a 30lb Carp and they were hoping that perhaps the bigger fish were finally going to feed. As predicted the thunderstorms returned and somewhat earlier than predicted it becomes somewhat demoralising night after night of lashing rain and ground vibrating thunder not to mention the hazard that standing with a 12 foot carbon pole creates. Tommy was into a great fish and soon his dad netted him a p.b 27lber and not even the rain could ruin this moment with his dad.

The storms arrived early and cleared for a time allowing a brief glimpse of a beautiful sunset and once again we were serenaded by our million strong frog choir, it seemed a perfect evening.

It wasn't long before the storms returned and fearing a night of soaking I reeled in opting for a good nights sleep and a new plan for the morning. With several days elapsing and I not managing to land anything of any note I decided to try and catch a few carp instead, so the next day I borrowed a couple of the wafters from Kev and Jamie having not brought carp baits. I made up some groundbait and setup a method feeder in the margin and steadily introduced bait throughout the day. I noticed a lovely green dragon fly sat sunbathing or most likely drying itself out, the wings caught the light in such a way that it resembled stained glass windows, incredible mother nature. I hadn't noticed until afterwards the other creature or Dragonfly larvae sat beneath the wings and this could well have been the empty shell of this insect.

The margin rod let out a scream as a fish had fallen into the trap that I had made throughout the day and Mike finally had something to help me net, it wasn't until it rolled just out of reach that I could see it was the lakes Koi Carp. Like David Dickinson the orange glow looked totally unnatural in the chocolate coloured water, and for a few heart stopping moments I felt this stunning fish would surely be lost. We couldn't get the net past the marginal weeds and while we struggled the fish rolled repeatedly in its bid for freedom, finally the net reached and the prize was mine.

The fish wasn't huge, but size is irrelevant on a fish of this beauty and this golden glow punctuated even the dullest of days, and like an arriving sentinel this fish heralded in a change in the weather and my fishing. The next day the weather was cracking and I said to Mike lets go and check out the weedy pond below the main lake, this 2 acre lake was like something from the lost world. Trees long dead hung over the lakes margins like timber octopuses reaching out into the gloom, the surface of the lake was covered in a layer of moss croutons and thick weed strands rose from the silty lakebed. This lake was also very shallow probably only a depth of 3 feet, and due to the dense overgrowth and lush conifers the ambient temperature was several degrees lower than the more exposed higher lake. We grabbed a rod each and went off for a few hours in search of whatever lives there, its quite exciting casting into the unknown. I opted for the method feeder with a small meaty flavoured pop-up, I could then bury the hook bait in the groundbait and avoid the patches of dense weed. The rod had only been cast 5 minutes when it tore off and a bow wave formed on the green surface scattering the moss in all directions'. This small Carp went ballistic and was what we call a wild Carp, carp left to their own devices will eventually revert to their wild form, long lean and powerful. The fish of just a couple of pounds was quite stunning due to the clear spring water and was very coppery with a purple hue so common with clear water fish. Within another 20 minutes I was in again and this one jumped clean from the water like a marlin causing a thousand frogs to chirp wildly for help, an amazing scrap followed with a much better size fish, strangely chunky for this little lake.

Mike really needed to get one so the next take on my rod was his, his own rod without the feeder had been incredibly quiet. It didn't take long before my rod was once again attached to a Carp and Mike finally got a fish, although he hadn't hardly fished this week opting to run 10k everyday instead.

It was great to see Mike chuffed with his small wild carp and he was more than happy to end his fishing with that fish and continue watching everyone else. The afternoon continued to produce carp for us and we finished with another stunning looking carp, a nice low double,making it 10 runs in the few hours we did, more importantly it was great to spend quality time with one of my long time mates.

It was time to get back to the main lake the lads were having a barbecue and watching the England game that evening, for me fishing beats football everyday of the week so I would be on the lake myself that night. One of the downsides of the recent bad weather was my bait boat had started to play up and was now not working at all, I think water had got into the handset but it was totalled for the week. This meant it was back to the old school method of casting out and baiting with a catapult, its important not to rely on this hi-tec equipment which is never a substitute for basic water craft. My plan for the afternoon / evening was one rod cast out to a weedy bay on the left where fish had been showing over the last few days, the middle rod was to be for cats with double 22mm halibut pellet cast in the deep channel and baited with a kilo of big pellet. The final rod was to be cast to the right of the island with a PVA bag of pellet and a small popup. I knew that the catfish liked large beds of pellet and so topped up the channel with 20 baits every 30 minutes, this had the desired effect as soon a huge area of bubbles erupted over the baited area. This sheet of bubbles and froth extended over a large area and patches of silt were also visible across a large square section of the surface, I knew this was a very large catfish, they reach sizes of 130lb in this lake. Then as expected the catfish rod roared off and the surface of the lake boiled, I picked up the rod and engaged the reel but the fish was already steaming off down the side of the island. Despite the strong tackle I couldn't stop the fish, all I could do was to keep the pressure on to impede its journey as best I could, then the rod flew back and the fish was gone. Upon retrieving the tackle I could see the hook trace had parted, I had been using 30lb Ntrap coated braid but I normally use heavier quicksilver, looking at the bait bucket the two pre-baited rigs sat on the pellets were both the heavy quicksilver. No excuses there total angler error, never, never give big fish a weak point to exploit as they will inevitably make a fool out of you. The left hand rod was now off and running and in a slow dejected sort of way so was I, the fish was hooked and after a short battle Mike netted it first go.

I re-rigged the catfish rod with the appropriate quicksilver trace material and put out another kilo of pellet in the same area, the night began pulling in and the lake felt strangely eerie with the guys all up at the house. It was a perfect fishing night, hot humid with a slight breeze and I relished the company of the frogs, bats and feral cats.

We have had dealings with feral cats in the past and I never take any chance with them, as one walked towards the darkened door of my bivvy I decided to bark loudly in my best Rottweiler voice, it did the trick as the cat left the ground instantly and I didn't see it land! I must have dozed off to sleep as it was 2am when I was awoken by the screaming of some hideous alien beast with its high pitched beeping noise, that will be the alarm with the catfish rod then. I ran out and struck to nothing, how frustrating, I clipped on a new trace loaded with pellet and fired it out into the darkness and added 20 baits in the general direction. Its always difficult to get back to sleep after that sort of incident but eventually I did only to have the same alien encounter an hour later with the rod once again roaring off. This was becoming tiresome but I lifted into the rod and felt good resistance as the fish kited left towards weedy bay, no you don't I thought and bullied it back right, the fish made repeated runs towards the island and I thought this must be a fairly nice catfish. The fish was now approaching the margin and as it turned in the red glow of my head torch I was shocked to see a large Carp, I needed to get out past the reeds to net the fish and just waded out fully clothed, the warm water oozed into every void and was not unpleasant in the sticky night. Now I had cleared the rushes I could net the fish properly and after a couple of misses I finally scooped up the fish, a lovely big common of 30lb.

I weighed the fish which went 31lb, lovely, jubbly and surely worth getting wet for, problem was no one to take the pictures, I sacked the fish temporarily and went back to the house to change into dry clothes. Despite creeping carefully up the creaky stairs they were awfully loud but maybe that was my intention and sure enough Mike called out " is everything ok"? I explained what I had caught and that I needed to get the fish back as soon as possible and he graciously got dressed and came down and done the photos, what a star! Mike was soon back at the house and I was once again sat in the darkness although somewhat happier after landing that fish. I made a coffee and decided to sit and watch the arrival of dawn over the lake as the frog chorus changed to the birds dawn chorus, fish started topping all over the lake. Then the right hand rod was off next to the island and as I played the fish towards the margin the left hand rod was also signalling a fast bite, typical two fish at once. I eventually netted the first fish and ran and grabbed the second rod but by now this one had reached the weed and the hook pulled free. The other fish was another lovely common and as luck would have it I spotted Jamie heading back to his bivvy, he gladly came over and done the obligatory pictures.

Everyone was getting their baits out and young Tommy was keen as mustard rowing out his baits, baiting up and getting rewarded with a bevvy of fish in quick succession, including a 30lber.

The fish really were on the feed on our last day of fishing and despite Jamie starting well with 10 twenty's in a row his catches had petered out, dad Kevin though was catching up with a 30lb Common and the biggest fish of the trip a 37lb Mirror.

The left hand weedy bay continued to show signs of fish and I crept through the overgrowth to grab a few snaps of the fish rolling amongst the weed, I got a shot of the carp but also spotted a big grass Snake heading over to snakeaphobic Kevin and took a quick snap.

Just as I returned from the look around weedy bay the rod positioned over there, roared off and I was into another big common carp that used the weed beds to its advantage, determination prevailed and I managed to get the fish in and landed.

Jamie had decided to have a go down the weedy lake for one of the hard fighting wild carp and was soon radioing that he had caught a catfish, this was quickly followed by another. I couldn't believe it, I was wanting catfish and he was catching them while trying for carp. Then young tommy reported he had just landed a pesky catfish of 12lb, once again on his fruity carp bait.

I had enough of carp and seeing as we were packing up today I decided to get all my stuff packed and put away and just go to the bottom lake for the evening and fish for catfish, at least I would feel like I was predator fishing. Trevor, Toms dad had also done well through the week but unfortunately when I asked him for the pictures of his fish he had caught, I was sent one Carp picture, three black squares and a picture of a lion! So below are the only two pictures of trev, one of him freeing a snagged fish and the other him with one of the several carp I know he caught.

With everything dried in what was the hottest day of the week it was time to head down to spend the last few hours on the weedy lake in the hope of a catfish or two. Jamie had managed 3 during the afternoon so there seemed to be a few about and if not it would still be a relaxing way to finish the holiday. I walked down ahead of Mike who said he would meet me down there in 5 minutes, it took less than 5 minutes to get the first run and what fun that was hooking a catfish in such shallow water. Mike arrived in time to take the photos and he really is a natural at taking the pictures pointing out if the background isn't great or two bright. The evening was really enjoyable and a fitting end to a wonderful weeks fishing, testing at times for sure but what fishing isn't.

I managed 3 Cats in the few hours on the weedy pond the biggest being 15lb and my total for the week was 11 Carp to 31lb, 15 Cats to 15lb, 1 Pike and 1 Hybrid. The highlight catch of my trip was without doubt the stunning Koi, although the ones that got of way may have been nice.The other guys all caught plenty of carp and young Tommy caught the most which was fantastic to see, every fish he caught was earned, he rigged up, baited up and played the fish all himself I look forward to Tom giving us a lesson again on our next trip. We spent that evening in the cottage and headed off early the next day stopping at a French café for a final taste of France, you cant come to France without sampling their finest creation a drink that sums up the French and the French talent for creation!

Thanks guys for wonderful memories ,some in the face of adversary, you all kept me sane when disaster struck on numerous occasions and I'm proud to call you my mates! Its only going be two years to the next one as we are going during the Euros so roll on then.

Back to the challenge next weekend with a try for the Tope, joining the Happy Danglers out of Minehead aboard Steve Webbers Osprey.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page