top of page

Goby or not Goby

This week I had decided to have another attempt at some of the UKs Mini species, having failed miserably on the previous few efforts. It would be nice to try a different area and perhaps get some local knowledge, as luck would have it, good friend John Locker had just messaged me regarding a recent species trip. John had been fishing a shore mark down in Falmouth and landed a number of mini species and some of these I would have liked to knock off my list. We made arrangements to meet up on the Saturday afternoon and John would take us to a few marks where these species are known to reside. The art of LRF, light rock fishing has really taken off in the last few years, and its opened up a whole new category of fish species, to small to have been hooked previously. The tackle is quite obviously light, and hooks and lines are more in keeping with a match coarse angler, sometimes as small as a size 18. The British mini species list contains a multitude of tiny little characters, many with vibrate colours and elaborate fins, some inhabit the smallest of pools. I was keen for my challenge to include a wide spectrum of native species and these mini fish deserve to be up there with Sharks, Pike and Conger Eel. Chris was keen to join me on another quest and any possibility of a Wrasse will wet his appetite, I had my own Wrasse to try to catch, the stunning Corkwing Wrasse and if really lucky the Goldsinny Wrasse. We met John down in Falmouth and followed him to the first spot, this mark was a low water mark and could throw up the odd Giant Goby, that would be a real bonus species. We parked up, loaded ourselves up with the kit and headed off down the track to the jagged, largely exposed rocky shoreline, this area screamed Wrasse and the wrasse whisperer was champing at the bit to get started on this stunning mark.

The spot John had brought us was glorious and as we made our way up the rocks we met a group of divers, they told us all they had seen was some Pouting and a solitary Spider Crab, not very inspiring! We soon found some great looking gully's and prepared to fish, John had dug some fresh harbour Ragworm and this was to be the main bait around these rocks.

It wasn't to long until we started getting bites as the small abundant fish made mincemeat of the fresh worm baits, connecting with them was another matter. When you go from one fishing discipline to another it takes a little while to get tuned in to the next species and John was first to connect, landing a lovely Corkwing Wrasse. Next it was my turn and no worries about getting tuned in as the rod nearly jumped from my hand, a good scrap ensued but the hook popped out while the fish wallowed on the surface, it had been a Ballan Wrasse. Then it was the Wrasse whisperer's turn as he swung in a lovely little Common Blenny, 3 different species in a matter of minutes.

Chris took a close up photo of his first and personal best Blenny before holding it up for a trophy shot, Blenny Henry had other ideas and decided to sink its teeth into Chris's finger. This aggressive attitude paid off, as Chris immediately dropped the toothy tadpole into the sea and shouted " it bit me", the lack of sympathy was deafening as both John and I found it highly amusing. Finally I managed to connect with another fish and this time there was no mistakes and even better, it was a Corkwing Wrasse and species 37, happy days and this was followed by a Corkwing male. The beauty of having rockpools all around you can keep a few fish safe and in water while you setup the camera, then retrieve them for photograph, below a male and female Corkwing Wrasse.

John the fish Locker had 3 Ballan Wrasse in quick succession, signally the tide had started to flood and time to move to our next mark, as great as the Ballan Wrasse are we were after different species and these fish quickly bully the smaller fish away. Chris hadn't had a Wrasse yet and getting him to move spots, was like prising a limpet from a rock with only a stick of celery! We drove the 30 minutes to the next mark, a small stone jetty nicely tucked away and despite the strong breeze, it was comfy fishing. This time it was a case of dropping down the face of the wall and try to encourage the fish living in the multitude of cracks and holes to grab the bait. Once again John was quickly into a fish, landing a Corkwing then followed it up with a Black Goby, this was a fish I wanted and I was confident id get one. The rod then bounced frantically as something grabbed the wriggling bait, sure enough a fish had been hooked, this time a pretty little Ballan Wrasse.

As we sat there absorbing the ambience the bellowing of an impromptu sea chanty erupted from the mouths of a group of old sea dogs, tying flags to a rope, to our rear. Luckily the second verse was cut short by the howling of some type of fog horn only yards from our location, I'm not sure which of the two noises grated worse. We managed a few more Ballan's before the Ben Ainsley appreciation society decided it would be fun to turn their sailing boats as close to the little structure we were sat on, as possible. This definitely finished the fishing from this spot today and we packed up and headed to the next and final mark, Chris hoping for a Wrasse and I for a Goby. The next spot was a pier made up of multiple construction methods with the first section being a standard stone built structure, this changed around halfway to a timber and steel structure sat on pillars like your typical seaside pier. The weather was hot and the pier was full of the public, shuffling around like giant tree sloths in shorts, and carrying ice creams. This is my worst nightmare and I would normally avoid this sort of spot like the plague. Our guide Sherpa Locker was adamant this was the spot to try and he ran through the method for success, I must admit to missing much of the lesson as the obscenity's being voiced by a group of local oiks next to us, largely drowned him out. We split up to cover various areas of the pier and I think about 30 minutes had elapsed before I realised some type of droning noise was actually making me feel despondent. I glanced toward the direction of the white noise to see, Two String Tony, the most depressing Pier based musician Truro had ever spawned. The whining aimless strumming now emanating from this double denim clad man, could only be described as torture, clearly apparent by the 50 yard exclusion zone the sloths had created around him. I had an overbearing sensation to quit this pier of despair and rapidly packed up the rods and headed off to find the others.

I caught up with Chris and he told me about his epic battle with a huge Black Goby which is pictured below, unlike Blenny Henry this chap never sunk its choppers into Chris's finger and was no doubt the specimen of the trip.

John had also managed a few more fish and was now on 5 species, he really does know how to fish these spots. Spotting my packed up rods he asked why, I explained the lack of bites coupled with an overbearing feeling of dread brought on by an under-zealous guitarist were to blame. He convinced me to have another hour as there was still time to get that Goby, his northern positively worked wonders and I was soon re-threading the line. While re-tackling I noticed the Pirate Jack Sparrow, looking worriedly out to sea, filling in the dots I assumed he was going on the party boat later, and was now concerned his mates had told him it was fancy dress when it wasn't. I know exactly how he feels having once burst into a pub dressed as the incredible hulk, complete with green face, only to find out no one else was in fancy dress. With my kit once again ready for action I made my way down the steps under the pier as advised by John, I cast the ragworm close to the weed green timbers and gently bounced the rig along the bottom. I continued this process for around 30 minutes, each cast was closer to the corroding structure. Then finally the fine tip of the rod juddered, as a micro fish pounced, I gingerly retrieved the line knowing something was on the end. Yes, wriggling at the end of the line was a Black Goby, even in XS, I was delighted and ran up the steps to show my prize to the others, as I went to grab the little fish it swung out over the water, for a second I thought disaster may ensue but it swung right round and safely back to my hand.

As I held the fish up for the photo I could see the Pirate Jack Sparrow was now surrounded by a bevvy of beautiful piratese's and I knew, we both got what we were after. With the Black Goby caught, it was time to head back to the marina to pick up my car and start the long journey home. Chris was still keen to have a crack at the marina Mullet and we decided if after chucking in some bread we attracted some Mullet we would stay for a while and have a go. Sure enough the bread proved very attractive.

So with every Swan in Falmouth now attending the Chris Hodgson's all you can eat bread buffet, it really was time to hit the road. It was a really enjoyable afternoon with great company and I learned a lot from talented angler John, so good of him to support this cause with his time and help. From a challenge perspective two more species added to the pot and if the weather remains good this week, I'm sure another is on the cards Thursday, fingers crossed.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page