top of page

Heads & Tails

Apologies for the frequency of the blogs lately but if I don't get things down in print not long after they happen I soon forget and I promised myself that even the failures need to be included to keep this all real. With Easter being early this year I knew I would have a couple of chances of targeting species 28 although what it would be was still a mystery. The first opportunity was to be on the Thursday afternoon and with some sunshine and heavy showers I didn't fancy going too far. Finally I made the decision to try for a Grey Mullet, a tricky fish at the right time of year, so with the recent cold spell and heavy rain it wasn't the best of plans but my choices are still limited. I messaged Chris who was happy to give his wife a break from the constant coughing, although he also agreed it wasn't the most cunning of our plans. The venue I chose was an area I've wanted to try for Mullet for sometime and I know that during the summer this section of river can be black with them. We drove for about 45 minutes before finally relenting and asking the I phone for some help, I'm sure the female map assistance is condescending when I ask her for help. It turned out we were only 2 miles from the spot on the river, and I done that with my natural sense of direction, I Phone Woman!

This is a wonderful comfy spot to fish and it really doesn't feel like your sea fishing but this section produces Flounder, Bass, Seatrout and Mullet. You can park for free right in front of your rods and what more could you ask for, well maybe if the numerous pond life that turn up and tip the contents of their cars onto the grass, could actually drag their sorry backsides the 20 yards to the bin! Chris picked up the rubbish and walked it over to chuck it in the bin, its this sort of thing that gets fishing a bad name and anglers banned, its unfortunately far to common nowadays. Once the beautiful spot was returned to the way it should have been, we got out the bread that was to be mashed up to create the attractor for the mullet, added to this would be some rotten mackerel and fish oil.

As the picture above shows you need plenty of bread to create a good trail for the mullet to home in on, we were going to use bread flake for bait, fished below floats. With Mullet being a wily, finicky feeder we chose to use 4lb fluorocarbon traces with a size 14 hook, reducing the chances of the fish spooking.

It transpired that our refined techniques were not required as the flooding tide brought only groups of hungry Canadian Geese honking happily as they feasted on our chum trail of bread. The Mullet no doubt, still grouped further down the estuary waiting for the spring to finally arrive and I cant say I blame them, the rain had started falling heavily and the temperature dropped along with our spirits. The highlight of the trip was when a magnificent White Swan arrived like Ray Winston at a Morris Dances convention, the Swan put down a serious beating on those Geese and I was more than happy to see that guy polish of the bread.

So that was the first blank of the weekend out of the way and the next effort would be a solo mission after Fridays fencing work. Chris wasn't available Good Friday due to attending band camp, he would however pop out Saturday to help with the final part of the post installation. I arrived at the lake to find a light frost, with the water in the barrel iced up, there was no breeze and it was a great temperature for driving posts into the ground. The installation of the new predator fence has been going on for months and that is the consequence of doing it yourself, although I have had some genuine offers of help, its nice to have done it ourselves. The first 3 hours it felt like I put a ton of posts in but they were all level and at the correct height for the wiring, so now it was time for a couple of hours fishing. Once again I would try for a Tench although a cold breeze had arrived and the sky's were darkening, it was surely only a matter of time before the rain arrived. This time I decided to change tactics for the Tench and scale things down, so I opted for the quivertip rod with a size 16 hook to nylon and open end feeder. I mashed up a loaf of bread and mixed in a tin of Sweetcorn, then deposited a few handfuls a rod length out from the bank. The second rod would be popped-up corn on a scaled down carp rig that would be cast out to the deeper water.

The rods were cast and I sat back to await the impending rain while sitting as motionless as possible for a couple of hours. I think about 40 minutes passed and by steadily putting in a few grains of corn every 10 minutes I had managed, to keep occupied and entice some interest into the area, with groups of pin bubbles now rising to the surface. The quivertip was showing small pulls and tweeks as fish were clearly hovering up the free offerings, surely any second now. A large group of bubbles popped on the surface directly above the baited spot and finally the tip swung round as a fish grabbed the single grain of corn, the light gear strained as this now hooked fish tried to keep its head in the silt. The powerful judders and short runs pointed towards the fish I was after and species 28, sure enough the emerald beauty of a Tinca tinca the Green Tench rolled over for the net. I took a quick picture of the infamous red eye of the Tench, then popped the fish in the keep net just in case I went on to catch another and I could then get a brace shot.

I re-baited the rod and introduced some more corn and mashed bread to the swim, then poured myself a celebratory cuppa as the pressure was off, well until the next time. The rain was now overhead and the droplets were punctuated by spots of sleet and with an air temperature of just 2 degrees it was hardly surprising that my breath was visible in the air. Just in time to give me a morale boost a huge tail pattern boiled on the surface, again right above the bait, a tail pattern is generated when a fish puts its head on the bottom of the lake to feed and the waving of the tail causes a vortex in the water. The rod tip once again shot round and this time the strike was met with a very different fish, as a huge bow wave appeared on the waters surface. The light line squealed as the fish headed out across the lake, this was clearly one of the lakes 3 Carp and possibly the big Ghostie. Several nervous minutes passed as I convinced the big fish to return to the bank where I waited with the net, the fish was now circling deep and the lighter rod lacked the stiffness to raise the fishes head. I applied a little more side strain and the inevitable happened, the tiny hook popped out. There then followed the numbness associated with the loss of a good fish, you find yourself staring at the waters surface in the hope the fish reappears. Why hadn't the fish picked up the other rod with a stronger setup and larger hook, isn't that always the way, I went for a stroll around the lake with a big stick to hopefully whack a mole, ( that's a joke by the way they are far to fast ). Once the fresh air , freezing rain and wet feet had taken my mind off the lost fish I was ready to start again. The rod was back out and within 20 minutes there was activity as feeding fish were once again evident, the rod tip shaking as fish passed close to the bait or moved the feeder. At last a fish picked up the grain of corn and I was again playing a much more sensibly sized Tench, the fish was soon netted with no mistakes.

Now with the brace of Tench I was after and the weather deteriorating I decided to call it a day, still gutted about the Carp I decided after tomorrows' fencing work I would try for a Carp on the top lake, to hopefully get even. The weather came in even worse on my journey home with snow now falling on the higher sections of the journey, beast from the east 3? Saturday was to be my final chance for an hours fishing this weekend, but only after completing the last field full of fence posts. Fortunately Chris came out to give me a hand for a couple of hours, but couldn't stay as the lure of the Gods of Rock were once again calling, and another gig was on the agenda. We started ramming the posts with the giant blue post educator and Chris watched me do a few of the posts before stating, " now let me have a go on the big post"! Every fourth post is a large 8 foot by 6 inch post and they do take some driving in, especially to get them down to the right height, Chris however sees them as an extension to the gym and relishes the challenge. This particular post was in some hard ground and Chris raised the post pounder above his head and slammed it into the post although it caught the post wrong and veered off coming down on his head with a resounding donk! He immediately dropped the tool and staggered off clutching his head, I then done exactly what I hate people doing to me when ive just injured myself, I asked " are you all right mate"? Chris replied yes but as he stood up a spurt of blood pumped from the top of his head.

I am not good with seeing my own blood and this extends to people bleeding in front of me I was now in fight or flight mode with a strong urge to keel over. Fortunately I didn't and I quickly got clean water and some paper tissue to help clean the wound, I insisted Chris sat down and drunk some water. He was determined to get on and finish the job and I can only put this down to the years he spent head banging at concerts, this small bang on the head was nothing to a hardened rocker! Despite the flesh wound and the concussion Chris battled on and we got the posts in the ground and level within 2 hours. I did cheekily grab a picture of the wounded soldier, only for the purposes of the blog, stating that if anything happened he would at least make the latest instalment. Chris headed off to go and bang his drums and give his head a rest, leaving me to do a few minor maintenance jobs and grab an hours fishing. First thing I did was break up some crusty bread and distribute it at different points around the top lake, I then left this for a while why I cleared the other lakes outlets, of debris. Once I returned I stealthily crept around looking for feeding fish, I spotted a nice Common cautiously mouthing a piece of crust hard against the margin. I sat on the grass and waited while it grew in confidence, eventually hoovering up any bread within it's proximity, I then went and got my rod and net. I attached a 1 inch square of bread crust to the hook and flicked it out just passed the feeding Carp, I slowly inched the bait back to the hot zone and instantly a loud slurp indicated the carp had taken the bait. I lifted the rod connecting with the shocked fish and it rapidly left the margins opting to fight out in the centre of the lake. This time with the right gear and decent hook the fish was only going one way and that was in the net.

The fish was a gorgeous conditioned Common Carp and although it had no large gut, coming out of the winter, it was long and thick enough to warrant a weigh. The Carp came in at 16lb 4oz which was great to see and be nice to see this fish in October with a bit of an autumn stomach.

I've included a few pictures of the fish as it really is nice to see the fish you have nurtured, protected and helped flourish grow up, also friend and skipper of Anglo Dawn, Andy Howell struggles with too many words and wants more pictures.

As I returned the fish to the lake I noticed some more swirls over in the far margin and a quick bit of reconnaissance confirmed a further 3 nice Carp were now taking bread with two of them being very nice fish. I glanced at the watch and I knew I had to get back for my tea, it wasn't one of those times I felt like pushing my luck with Mrs D,it was Easter after all. So I packed up and chucked the rest of the bread in, reluctantly watching the group of fish now confidently wolfing down the offerings, next time! The Tails in the title of this blog refers to the lost carps tail patterns on the waters surface and the Head well that's obvious. I've since checked that Chris made it through the night and despite his head bleeding off and on for several hours, he will be there for me to take the mickey out of on our next instalment. I might have to start calling him Sick note, as in the last three months he had the flu, an abscess, constant cough and split head! This is a man that watches his diet, regularly attends the gym and respects his body, I however have been ailment free while eating buckets of KFC, drinking Cider every night and only exercising while trying to get in my drysuit, I'm just saying!

Best wishes this easter to all stroke victims, their familes and carers


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page